Confessions of Circle-Drawer

August 31, 2010 § Leave a comment

I have a confession to make: I’m addicted to circles! It’s a long-running love affair; somewhere in a dusty old suitcase, there’s a picture of me, not much older than three or four, drawing perfect black ink circles repeatedly on a blank piece of paper. Now, I’d like to believe that this was my young creative juices flowing but I have recently read a study that being able to draw perfect circles is a sign of madness (true?). That or I was developing my ancient Chinese meditation techniques early! Either way, my love of circles was born and I have been slightly (hmmm) obsessed ever since. In fact, catch me on the telephone and nine times out of ten I will be busy doodling circles on a scrap of paper. I’m not sure if it is the completeness or simplicity that I love more but there is nothing more satisfying to me than a perfect sphere.

With this confession off my chest, I would like to welcome everyone to my blog, where journeys in colour, shape and play meet. Enjoy!

Current favourite circles from left to right, top to bottom: Painted wood – focuslineart, Party invitation, Necklace – Tuulikki Titine, Bellaire Arts Festival, Book – Jennifer Khoshbin, Booklet – Pam and Jenny Design Studio, Chalk, Plates – Tric Dinnerwear, Marbles, Macaroons from The Dorchester, Ceramics – Studio Miiip, Badges – Hunters Hideaway, Painting – Hundertwasser, Teapot, Peas!, Wall hangings – merriweathercouncil
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Confessions of Circle-Drawer at The Panta Rei Experiment.

meta

